VISA/Reaching Hungary/Contacts

Download application form:

Choose the Hungarian mission nearest to you:

For further consular info go to the  website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade of Hungary:

General information for entering Hungary

Hungary joined the Schengen Area on 21 December, 2007. Since then visas and residence permits issued by one of the Schengen Member States are valid for Hungary, and visas/residence permits issued by Hungarian authorities are – as a general rule – also valid for the entire Schengen Area.

Schengen Member States: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Norway, Switzerland, Lichtenstein.

Where to submit a visa application?

Uniform visa applications have to be submitted at the Hungarian Embassy/Consulate General in your country or at the Embassy/ Consulate General representing Hungary on visa issuance.

Which of the Hungarian consulates is responsible for issuing a visa?

  1. Country of legal and habitual residency (the applicant is a citizen of the esteemed country or holds a permit that makes a stay longer than 3 months possible – e.g. permit of residency)
  2. If the applicant does not have a habitual residence or right for long term stay, but at the moment is a legal resident and has given valid  reasons for applying at that consulate. This is not a given, it depends on the consulate’s consideration and must be supported by a good reason.

The stay is legal only if, according to the third country’s law, the applicant is entitled to stay within the consulate’s authorised area for short stay (e.g. with visa) or for longer stay (e.g. with residence permit).

If there is no Hungarian consulate in the applicant’s country of residence then a Member State may represent Hungary regarding the issue of a visa, within the framework of an existing visa representation agreement.

Should there be no Hungarian representation, nor another Member State issuing visas on behalf of Hungary in the country of the applicant’s place of residence, then a visa application can be submitted at any Hungarian Embassy/Consulate General outside the Schengen Area.

Who should submit a visa application?

The application should be submitted personally by the applicant.

Important information

  1. Applications shall be lodged no more than three months before the start of the intended visit.
  2. The decision about applications must be made within 15 calendar days from the submission. Therefore it is advised to submit the application earlier than 15 calendar days before the planned departure. The consulate does not take any responsibility for delayed submission and for the resulting changes in travel plans.
  3. That period may be extended up to a maximum of 30 calendar days, and the maximum of 60 calendar days in special cases.

Please check travel documents that are accepted upon entering Hungary on the website of DG HOME, under the link:

Documents needed for visa applications

  1. Completed visa application form;
  2. Travel document with at least two empty pages. The issue date on the passport should be within the past 10 years.. The passport must be valid for at least 3 months beyond the date on which you intend to leave the Schengen territory.
  3. Invitation letter issued by FINA World Juniors BUDAPEST 2019 OC (please send your request to, deadline: May 3, 2019)
  4. Travel medical insurance (covering emergency medical, hospitalisation and repatriation. The minimum cover should be of 30.000 EUR. This insurance must be valid for the entire Schengen area and throughout the duration of the stay)
  5. Travel itinerary
  6. Planned accommodation

Contact information of the OC

All National Federations should communicate with the OC at the following address:

Hungarian Swimming Association
Tel:+36 1 2655299
Address: Hajós Alfréd sétány 2, 1007 Margitsziget, Budapest, Hungary

Key contacts:

Mr. Dávid SZANTÓ    Head of OC                  
Mrs. Enikő TÖRÖK    Head of Sports             
Mr. Zoltán SIÓ            Competition manager  
Mr. Lászlo SZÖGI      Accommodation manager
Mr. Gábor BABICZ     Transportation manager  
Mr. Szabolcs Birkás   Marketing&Sponsorship
TBC                            Team liaison                 

Annex - Visa free entry

Citizens of countries/territories/entities listed in Annex II (“positive list”) of the 539/2001/EC Regulation may travel to Hungary without visa:

EU-Member States, Albania (only holders of biometric passports), Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda , Argentina , Aruba, Australia , Bahamas , Barbados , Bosnia and Herzegovina (only holders of biometric passports) , Brazil , British overseas territories*: Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Gibraltar, Turks and Caicos Islands, Brunei Darussalam , Canada , Chile , Colombia, Costa Rica  , Dominica, former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (only holders of biometric passports), Curacao, Faroe Islands, Georgia, Grenada , Guam, Guatemala , Holy See , Honduras , Hong Kong (only holders of a “Hong Kong Special Administrative Region” passport), Iceland, Israel , Japan , Kiribati, Lichtenstein, Macao (only holders of a “Regiao Administrativa Especial de Macau” passport) , Malaysia , Marshall Islands, Mauritius , Mexico , Micronesia, Moldova (only holders of biometric passports) , Monaco , Montenegro (only holders of biometric passport) , Nauru, New Zealand , Nicaragua , Northern Mariana, Norway, Palau, Panama , Paraguay , Peru, Puerto Rico, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Salvador, Samoa, Saint Maarten, San Marino , Serbia (only holders of biometric passports) , Seychelles , Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Korea , Switzerland, Taiwan (only holders of passports issued by Taiwan which include an identity card number) , Timor-Leste, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, United Arab Emirates, United States of America , Uruguay, US Samoa, US Virgin Islands, Vanuatu, Venezuela

*509/2014/EU regulation: 1. British nationals (Overseas); 2. British overseas territories citizens (BOTC); 3. British overseas citizens (BOC); 4. British protected persons (BPP); 5. British subjects (BS) can travel to the EU visa free